Release Date: July 2020
Label: The Leaf Label
Formats: Digital
Duration: 2-track EP; 6 minutes
Roles: Production, composition, programming, and performance (synths)

The Distance EP is a follow-up to the Nightports w/ Betamax album (The Leaf Label). This EP features two bonus tracks, not included on the album. Each one builds on the idea of restriction – all the sounds on the EP are crafted from Betamax’s original drum takes. The EP was made after the Nightports w/ Betamax album was already complete – we went back through the original recordings to check for parts we’d missed, stones left unturned and sounds we’d previously left alone. These tracks contain a new array of sounds and shapes from Betamax to act as a follow on to what the album started.

Artwork by Split. Photography by Fiona Delaloye.

Nightports is based on a simple but unbreakable rule of restriction: only sounds produced by the featured musician can be used. Nothing else. These sounds can be transformed, distorted, translated, processed and reprocessed, stretched, cut, ordered and reordered without limitation.